Attributes & Skills


Image result for eso attributesIn The Elder Scrolls Online, you have just three main attributes. Each is represented by a colored bar that appears at the bottom of the screen whenever the attribute is at less than 100%.

  • Health
    • The total damage you can take before dying
    • Represented by a red bar at the bottom center of the screen
    • Regenerates faster outside of combat than inside of combat
  • Magicka
    • The magical energy used to cast spells
    • Represented by a blue bar at the bottom left of the screen
    • Regenerates faster outside of combat than inside of combat
    • A higher maximum magicka increases the damage dealt by magicka-based abilities, including most class abilities, as well as increases the effectiveness of your healing spells.
  • Stamina
    • Your physical energy, used for sprinting and making power attacks (among other things)
    • Represented by a green bar at the bottom right of the screen
    • Regenerates faster outside of combat than inside of combat
    • A higher maximum stamina increases the damage dealt by stamina-based abilities, such as those for most weapons, and light and heavy attacks for weapons
    • Having more maximum stamina will not increase the cost of dodging, blocking, or other combat maneuvers

Each time you level up, you can choose to increase one attribute by 111 points (122 points for Health). You can choose to increase attributes at a later time.

Attribute point assignments can be changed later on at a Rededication Shrine for a (small) cost in gold, or with an Attribute Respecification ScrollCrown Store from the Crown Store.

In addition, you have one other attribute:

  • Ultimate
    • The energy needed to use Ultimate abilities
    • Represented by a green bar which fills up in the background of your slotted Ultimate skill.
    • When you have enough to perform your Ultimate, the skill icon will glow


In Elder Scrolls Online, you advance your character by using different abilities, granted to you through different skill lines. In order to increase your progression in a skill line, you must use those skills. There are three types of skills: Passive Skills, Active Skills, and Ultimate Skills.

Passive Skills provide a bonus all the time. Some require certain items to be equipped or Active Skills to be slotted, but otherwise you don’t need to think about them. They generally have a number of upgrades available, which can be acquired by increasing your level in the relevant skill line. In most cases, this is achieved by using the Active Skills within the same skill line. In other cases, such as crafting skills, this can be achieved via crafting items or research. Each upgrade costs an additional skill point. Some Passive Skills do not require an investment of skill points, but are instead provided free as a result of certain situations. For example, each race gets one free passive which increases their experience gain with a given skill. The first level of each of the Crafting quality skills is free. There are free Passive Skills associated with becoming a Werewolf or Vampire, as well as some provided by the keeps and resources owned by your Alliance if you take part in the Alliance War. All current Emperors also receive some free Passive Skills.

Active Skills are the ones you’ll be using most in the game. You can have up to five slotted in your Action Bar, by default bound to the 1-5 keys. At character level 15, when you acquire Weapon Swapping, you gain an additional 5 slots for your alternate weapon. Like Passive Skills, they become available once a certain level in the skill line is reached. However, they cannot be upgraded, but rather improve through use. They have 4 Ranks, after which they may be Morphed into a new version. You will have two Morph options, which add different effects to the skill. Morphing a skill costs an additional skill point. Once a skill is Morphed, it can increase in Rank 4 more times, but may not be Morphed again (so you can’t get both Morph bonuses for any skill). Using your Active Skills will increase your overall level in the skill line, making new skills become available as you progress.

Ultimate Skills are similar to Active Skills, but instead of using Stamina or Magicka as most Active Skills do, these use a third resource called Ultimate. Ultimate builds over time as you fight, and (with one exception) completely depletes when you perform an Ultimate Skill. No skill line has more than one Ultimate Skill, if it has one at all. Like Active Skills, they become available after a certain level in the skill line, raise in Ranks, and can be Morphed into new skills after Rank IV. You may only have one Ultimate Skill slotted at a time (two if you have Weapon Swapping after reaching level 15). By default it is bound to the ‘R’ key.


Each of the game’s classes has three skill lines associated with it, which are immediately available to your character and are specific to your class:

Dragonknight Sorcerer Nightblade Templar Warden
Ardent Flame
Draconic Power
Earthen Heart
Dark Magic
Daedric Summoning
Storm Calling
Aedric Spear
Dawn’s Wrath
Restoring Light
Winter’s Embrace
Green Balance
Animal Companions


There are six weapon skill lines, each linked to a specific type of weapon. These lines are:

Any class can advance in any of the Weapon skill lines, while using the appropriate weapon.


There are three armor skill lines:

Any class can advance in any of the Armor skill lines, while wearing the appropriate armor type.


Each race has its own skill line. Your overall character level determines the abilities you may choose from your racial skills. See:


Not all of the skill lines are visible at the beginning of the game. You must discover other skill lines around the world, by completing certain quests, or finding certain items. The four World skill lines are:


The Guild skill lines include lines for NPC guilds:

Alliance War

Alliance War skill lines are the Player vs Player lines. These include siege weapons and other PvP abilities. Currently there are three Alliance War skill lines in the game:


Crafting skill lines are each related to a profession and help boost the products you create in the related profession. These include:

  • Alchemy – which allows you to craft custom potions
  • Blacksmithing – allows you to craft custom melee weapons and heavy armor
  • Clothing – allows you to craft custom light and medium armor
  • Enchanting – allows you to craft custom enchantments to apply to your gear
  • Provisioning – allows you to craft custom food and beverages
  • Woodworking – allows you to craft custom bows, staves, and shields

Earning Skill Points

There are several methods of earning skill points, listed below, up to a current total of 382 points (as of patch 3.1.5):

Spent skill points can be refunded at a Rededication Shrine for a (small) cost in gold, or with a Skill Respecification ScrollCrown Store available in the Crown Store.

524 total views, 1 views today